2017 Interprofessional Healthcare Case Competition

Posted on Jan 25, 2017

Students compete in statewide healthcare case competition hosted by Wisconsin AHEC

Wisconsin AHEC (Area Health Education Centers) System held the fourth annual statewide Interprofessional healthcare case competition January 12 – 13, 2017, at the Kalahari Resort in the Wisconsin Dells. The eight teams, chosen from 34 that applied, competed for up to a $3,000 first-place cash prize.

The teams, made up of students studying healthcare disciplines from public and private universities across the state, represented six out of the seven Wisconsin AHEC regions with three teams representing Milwaukee AHEC.

The students were assigned a case study of cultural competency and consideration at a hospital and throughout the healthcare process and conducted an analysis of the interprofessional efforts at the hospital and within the community. The teams then presented their findings and recommendations for enhanced collaboration to a panel of judges.

The case competition judges consisted of leaders from various disciplines within Wisconsin healthcare programs. The judges included Kathy Loppnow, President of the Wisconsin Technical College system; Stephanie Stewart, Dean of Bellin College; Roger Rego, CFO of Bridge Community Clinic; Mari Freiberg, Executive Director of Scenic Bluffs Community Health Centers; and Paria Sanaty Zadeh, former competitor and AHEC alumni.

Concurrent with the case competition, Wisconsin AHEC also hosted an interprofessional resource fair, called an “I.P. Village”, consisting of stations for multiple health professions. The hosts of the I.P. Village stations included registered nurses, physicians, a physician assistant, nurse practitioner, medical interpreter, simulation specialist, genetic counselor, and representatives from the public health, pharmacy and research fields. Touring the I.P. Village and talking with professionals at the stations gave students an opportunity to explore roles and responsibilities through the perspective of different healthcare professionals.

Keri Robbins, MS Ed, assistant director of Wisconsin AHEC, and Christina Patrin, executive director of the North Central region, hosted a reflection session during the Interprofessional Healthcare Case Competition for the students to discuss their thoughts on participating in the case analysis throughout the fall semester. Robbin’s session was based off of promoting self and collective efficacy in interprofessional teamwork for practitioners across the spectrum of professions and practice settings. All of the teams attended this optional meeting and reported constructive feedback on their experiences working with their teammates, which will be valuable in their future healthcare teams and employment settings.

The Wisconsin AHEC System is a non-profit organization funded by federal grants, the State of Wisconsin, the state’s health professions training programs, and local communities.  It consists of seven regional centers and one statewide program office.  Wisconsin AHEC is a health professions education and outreach program that is part of a nationwide network of programs working to improve accessibility and quality of primary health care while encouraging universities and educators to partner in addressing local health care problems. Wisconsin AHEC provided meals and lodging for students attending the competition, along with opportunities to network with healthcare professionals from around the state.

Cash prizes were awarded to the top three teams.

First place ($3,000) went to a team representing Scenic Rivers AHEC: Brenna Krawczyk (Carroll University, biology), Devanshi Patel (Carroll University, biochemistry), Bailey Donovan (UW-Madison, animal science, pre-veterinary) and Tara Zielke (Carroll University, biochemistry).
The second place ($2,000) team represented Northeastern AHEC: Forrest Beck (Concordia University of WI, pharmacy), Maria Barnes (Marquette University, dentistry), Britt Bickert (Concordia University of WI, physician assistant), and Matt Briski (Concordia University of WI, pharmacy).
Third place ($1,000) went to a team representing Northwest AHEC: Megan Colberg (WITC-Ashland, nursing), Della Thompson (WITC-Ashland, AD nursing gerontology), and Sarah Grubisic (WITC-Ashland, AD nursing).

For further information, see

Photo album available at:

Posted in General, News | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *